Star of Justice Pronunciation Guide

I had one. Created it years ago. I left it out of the book because…well, because I had enough of the “high fantasy” genre flags with a map, a quest, a story that took days instead of hours and a world different from Earth. I just didn’t want that last nail in the coffin of sub-genre labeling.

TT: Not sure why I object to the label “high fantasy.” It should appeal to the elitist in me. Maybe it does and that annoys me.

I also had a high enough page count I couldn’t justify adding another two just so people could pronounce made-up words. I made a mistake. Not my first.

Readers appear to be more comfortable with a pronunciation guide. I’ve had three specifically ask for one, and I’ve had two others respond with “Oh, that’s how you say that?”

Yes, that’s how I say that, but it doesn’t have to be the way you say it. I come from a State where creek and crik are the same thing (a tiny running stream, in case you’re not a Kansan). You can pronounce my made-up words any way you like and I don’t mind.

But, for those who absolutely, positively believe the only way to pronounce a made-up word is the way I pronounce it, here ya go:

PRONUNCIATION GUIDE:

Aerion (AIR-ee-on)

Aeriad (A-ree-ADD)

Caissa Ocren (CAY-shuh OH-cren)

Dryad (DRY-ad)

Ehsu (EH-soo)

Flamas (FLAHM-ahs)

Galena (Guh-LAY-nuh)

Gamaliel (Guh-MAY-lee-el)

Golor (GAH-lahr)

Gowan Rudebec (GOW-an Ruhd-a-BECK)

Grambage Garralar (GRAM-badge GAR-uh-lahr)

Indira Sampath (in-DEER-ah SAM-path)

Manarot (MAN-ah-row)

Merritt MacEwan (MARE-it mac-YOU-en)

Naiad (NIGH-ad)

Neriadim (NARE-ee-ah-DEEM)

Oread (OR-ee-ad)

Nauvoo Vehle (NOW-voo VELL-uh)

Radiac (RAY-dee-ack)

Rhami Harvarkoset (RAH-mee HAR-VAR-koh-set)

Shanti (shawn-TEE)

See, Kansans tend to emphasize the first syllable of a two syllable word. That’s really the trick to pronouncing any word in my world. If there’s a word you don’t see up there and want to, leave me a comment. I’ll be happy to tell you how to pronounce it the Kansas way.

Categories: Random Stuff | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Star of Justice Pronunciation Guide

  1. Ralene Burke

    As a fellow Kansan (at heart, obviously), this post offered a nice chuckle. And since I’ll be reading Star of Justice in the near future…good to know! I do like to know how the author’s pronounce it, b/c this is THEIR story. It would be like letting people think my name is Rah-lynn or Rah-lean, when it’s actually Ray-lean. It’s just not the same b/c I am for sure not a Rah-lynn.

  2. Ray-lean is the only way I’ve ever thought to pronounce it. Must be a Kansan thing. ;)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

